Campus of The University of Tampere, Top University in Europe

The University of Tampere

You are here

Primary tabs

The University of Tampere 1925

Tampere (Finland)

33100 The University of Tampere, FI-33014, Tampere, Finland

Tel. +358 50 318 6006

Year of establishment: 1925

A well-respected multidisciplinary research University, The University of Tampere (UTA) offers 16 English-taught Masters programmes and is one of the largest and most popular universities in Finland.   


The University of Tampere (UTA), with its nine schools and 15,000 degree students, is one of the largest and most popular universities in Finland. The university is a host to a vibrant community of over 1000 international students, including 30 Indian students, and 1500 academic experts. In its research, the university addresses the central issues in contemporary society. By providing critical knowledge and education, the university helps people and societies to improve their health and their cultural, social and economic well-being. The basic values of the University are academic freedom, creativity and social responsibility.

The University of Tampere is a multi-disciplinary research university with nine Schools – BioMediTech, School of Communication, Media and Theatre, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, School of Information Sciences, School of Language, Translation and Literary Studies, School of Management, School of Medicine and the School of Social Sciences and Humanities. In terms of practicalities, housing for students in Tampere is administered by TOAS, the Tampere Student Housing Foundation, which maintains and rents out student accommodation and has a quota of furnished reserved for international students. Monthly rents range from €200 to €400. The cost of living in Finland is on average comparable to the rest of Northern Europe, with rental, food, transportation, personal and leisure expenses costing around €700-900 per month.

Programmes and courses: UTA offers 16 Master’s programmes taught in English:

• Biotechnology

• Comparative Social Policy and Welfare

• Computational Big Data Analysis

• Human-Technology Interaction

• Internet and Game Studies

• Software Development

• Russian and European Studies

• Media Education

• Media Management

• Health Sciences

• Global and Transnational Studies

• Quantitative Social Research

• Peace, Mediation and Conflict Research

• Cultural Studies (from 2016)

• Teacher Education (from 2016)

The University participates in one Erasmus Mundus Master Course: Master’s Degree Programme in Research and Innovation in Higher Education. The University also offers 16 Doctoral programmes. The Master’s programmes and Doctoral programmes are all open to international applicants, and the application is open once year for Master’s programmes (December-January) and usually two times a year for Doctoral programmes; UTA does not charge tuition fees – although from 2016 non EU/EAA students will pay a Euro 100 application handling fee, and there is a small membership fee for the Student Union, which entitles students to a variety of student discounts.

HEI International Masters
HEI International Bachelors


We offer 17 Master's degree programmes in English:

  • Master's Degree Programme in Bioinformatics
  • Master's Degree Programme in Big Data Analytics
  • Master's Degree Programme in Business Competence
  • Master's Degree Programme Comparative Social Policy and Welfare
  • Master's Degree Programme in Cultural Studies
  • Master's Degree Programme in Global and Transnational Studies
  • Master's Degree Programme in Health Sciences
  • Master's Degree Programme in Human-Technology Interaction
  • Master's Degree Programme in Internet and Game Studies
  • Master's Degree Programme in Media Education
  • Master's Programme in Media Management
  • Master's Programme in Peace, Mediation and Conflict Research
  • Master's Degree Programme in Public Choice
  • Master's Programme in Research and Innovation in Higher Education (Erasmus Mundus Master Course)
  • Master's Degree Programme in Russian and European Studies
  • Master's Degree Programme in Software Development
  • Master's Degree Programme in Teacher Education

All of the programmes are of 120 ECTS credits and take two years to complete.

Please login or register



Hi sir, could you please tell me about phd programs.


University of Tampere has 17 Doctoral programmes in various fields. You can find the list of the programmes on our web site at The Doctoral degree takes approximately 4 years to complete and is worth 240 ECTS credits. Applying to a doctoral programme of the University of Tampere takes place twice a year (in April and October) with two exceptions: the School of Medicine and BioMediTech have their own application schedules. Prospective applicants should be in touch with the School well before the application round, the contact details for different Doctoral programmes can be found at